Monday, July 30, 2007

playing catch up

ummmm, hellooooo! i think i actually have time to update this. i'm at lauren's aunt's apartment in florence and it's gorgeous because she's an artist. the design of it is pretty incredible. owen's been really into it. she has like secret doors in her kitchen and floating lofts and a bathroom with a shower in the middle. that may be hard to visualize, but it looks really cool.

soooo, where did i leave off? did i ever leave off? did i even start writing about anything? i don't remember. i think the last time i actually wrote something was when i got to athens and i was waiting for whatshisface to come. that first day was kind of whatever -- i went and got groceries which included some of the best olive oil i've ever tasted in my life. and then i brought everything back to the hostel and tried to cook it. and i say tried because it was one of those stoves that you have to light yourself and i don't know how many people know this about me, but that is something i cannot do to save my life. so i got one of the hostel dudes to do it and then it basically blew out when i was waiting for my water to boil so i was just like FUCK THAT and i went upstairs and slept until owen came. he came around eleven and we finally ended up cooking my food and we ate and talked etccccccc. i showered quickly and then we went out for a beer in this little square a few blocks down. OH, but not before we saw a prostitute we're pretty sure was a man who was basically wearing a denim thong. aaaanndddd we also stopped to ask a soldier for directions to a bar. errrr, so we stayed out until about 4 talking about future plans and then walked back to the hostel for sleep. AND jesus christ, the AC was broken and owen is such a baby when he's hot he went down to the reception and got someone to come upstairs to fix it. definitely never got fixed and we slept in an inferno night one in athens.

day two, we got up at a decent hour in pools of sweat and went downstairs for a typical hostel breakfast (stale bread, jam, tea, nutella, hardboiled eggs which look horrible, etc..) and there was some lesbian girl that was wasted talking about all of her exgirlfriends. loudly. and it was awkward for everyone. alright, then we went to the acropolis because our hostel was literally a block away. okay, let me just say this: acropolis is cool, history shit like that is cool, but holy crap athens is way too hot in july. we were kind of over sightseeing after that and got our swimsuits on and went to the beach. it was a little crowded, puny little beach, lots of locals. we swam in the med, drank some beers, then headed back... we took naps when we got back from the hostel, then maybe ate? showered and headed to the rooftop bar. it had a good view of the acropolis at night and i tried to take pictures, but my camera is a bitch and they came out badly. so i just drank instead. got a fucking strong ass rum and coke and a shot of that licorice ish they drink there and i was feeling okay. we followed some people from the hostel to this place and on the way there there was a pack of dogs walking ahead of us. i guess they were really leading the way to the party. of course i loved them and tried to hug them... they weren't interested. so we got to this bar/club... i spent too much money on more drinks i didn't need. owen and i danced a little and then we caught a cab back to the hostel. we knew about some people leaving at 3 am for a plane from another, much cooler room, so we stole their beds after they left. waking up was a struggle... at least for me... and we didn't get up early enough for all the things we had to do. WHICH WAS getting a ferry to italy and then going to sardinia to meet carolyn. the punchline on that whole ordeal was that we ended up making our way to the port town (patras) and had a ticket for the next evening at 6 pm to italy. so, we basically lost a few days...

patras was kind of crazy in its own way... but i'm kind of over writing for now. i might get back to it later on, but i think this is enough for now.

byeeeee!

No comments: