\\\\\\\\\\
/
.
that explosion of punctuation is courtesy of templeton, who always feels the need to try and sit directly on my lap when i am on my laptop. anyway, what that should've been was: "so i felt compelled to update."
to the best of my ability, i will try to
starting with the facts...coming back from spain, i was awaiting the answer from the lyon program... i checked my email up until a week after the decision date and heard nothing. i eventually emailed the acting director for lyon asking what the deal was and she sent me some bs email saying she was sorry but that my gpa was a 2.4 blah blah blah, so i wasn't in. this initially bummed me out because there was question on the application that said something to the extent of, "if your gpa isn't a 2.5, will it be before the program begins?" i was pretty sure, and still am, that mine would've been. that very day, i went to go see everyone i could about petitioning and that following week, i spent petitioning my ass off. i wrote a personal statement, i talked to my dean, i emailed the study abroad adviors... everything i thought i needed to do. after weeks of still no response, i even got caroline to write an email to the directors of the lyon program basically pleading them for me to go. and we waited again until the director, who is staying in paris for the semester, emailed caroline back saying i was accepted. i was so stoked, i told my parents, whose reaction was disappointingly luke warm, and i mentally prepared for going. i didn't have an official acceptance though and again, after a week, i emailed the acting director asking what the deal was with my application. she emailed me back saying i was no accepted andddddd here we are. i emailed the director in paris and didn't hear an answer so i've basically given up. that was about the 17th of april and since then i've been tweaking with my plans for the summer and upcoming year.
maybe this deserves a new paragraph? so now, i've been thinking about skipping boston and moving to paris. or saving up for the next few months and renting in apartment in paris and fucking around. or staying here all summer and working and saving for boston. or just taking classes and saving up and then traveling after school. i mean... i've been going over a lot of different scenarios in my head all of which sound feasible... and i've made no official decision on anything other than wanting to sell my car.
i've been trying to avoid advice from my parents. mainly because i don't really care either way what they think on my plans for the rest of my life... but it is a bit overwhelming. i've been dealing with the matter the best way... which is thinking about it sometimes and hanging out with my friends and getting drunk most of the time. it's safe to say that trying to figure out what you're doing in the next few months with a week of school left is one of the worst things ever. i don't want to be sitting inside writing a CV and looking for internships - i want to be having a glass of wine at a restaurant downtown, or going to late night, or brunch. i want to be with people who stimulate me to think and who make me laugh.
and so, school since spain has becoming something completely different than any other way i've ever thought of school in my life. college is essentially, by the time that you've reached your last official month, all about social interaction. skipping classes for margaritas at lunch, going out on a sunday after work, date functions, etc.. and it's been, as so terribly cliche as it sounds, the best time of my life. i've gotten to know people better and i've gotten to know myself better. the end, which used to seem so far away, is suddenly seeming way too close... every moment seems more and more important and there are so many past moments i wish i had done more with. but i'm trying to live with no regrets, as i feel everyone should, and overall, my college experience has been undeniably amazing.
this past weekend was kind of the accumulation of the past 3 years at uva, but also the last 4 years of this whole college experience. swish came down from boston for the weekend to join me in my (first and) last college foxfields. it was so unbelievably fun, intense, ridiculous! there was chair breaking, playing soccer, late mights, dinner downtown, foxfields, shopping in richmond, all so much fun! we got minimal sleep and i never once slept in my bed. my body is so worn out, it hurts to even talk. it was everything that has happened in the weekends of the last four years in one. and i'm so sad it's over. i don't even mind the side effects i got from the heavy drinking (throwing up bile, losing your keys, gashes in your thumbs are not fun, folks) ... i'd take them ten times harder to have that weekend over again. it was nothing less than perfect and i don't want it to end.
No comments:
Post a Comment